Community

Flint Mission Trip

“I’m so proud of kids like you. Your generation needs more kids willing to serve like you guys are. You really are such a light  in this world. You have the power to change things.” -Dave Bush

I’ve done a lot of community service in my life, and none of it was like the trip to Flint we took. This trip was so eye-opening to me. I was under the impression that a lot of the work we would be doing was going to be interacting with little kidsimg_8350 and handing out waters, but our group did a whole lot more than that. We got dropped off to an abandoned house around 10:00 in the morning. When we got there, we were given gloves, paper bags, garbage bags, and a few tools. The house we went to had tree branches covering the yard, garbage everywhere, and a whole lot of work to be done. When I first saw what we had gotten ourselves into, I had already given up a little inside. There was no way that our little team of 7 was going to be able to move all those branches, and clean up all that trash in just 2 hours… or so I thought. Our team leader had so much optimism, and positivity, and just dove straight in.

Instead of all breaking up into groups and taking on the tasks at hand separately, we all worked together and got the branches picked up in no time. I was shocked to see how fast the empty garbage container was overfilled with brush. Next thing on the list was to pick up the trash that blanketed the yard, and roadside. img_8303We still had over an hour to finish all we needed to accomplish. By 11:30, all the garbage was picked up, the branches and scrub thrown away, and the yard mowed with the clippings in designated paper bags. I felt so accomplished. There were two men that met our group at the house. One in particular, left a lasting impression on me. His name was Dave Bush. He was such an inspiring, and happy man. He spends his free time doing what we volunteered to do for one day. These men kept commenting on how proud they are of us teens, getting out and helping others… But all I could think about was, “Why are we getting praised for one day of helping, when these men are doing this sort of thing every day, and hardly ever get so much as a single thank you”. Part of me feels so ashamed that I feel so self accomplished, and I really didn’t make that much of a dent in all the work that needs to be done in that area, and so many more places. Then Dave said this to me…

Your generation needs more people like you. If everyone had the mindset to create change, they could make a difference. Change this world. -Dave Bush

It’s so important to get out there and give back. This trip reinforced that idea into my head. I will never forget that trip, and I am so thankful that I am fortunate enough to go out and be able to help out.

img_8330
Dave Bush

img_8361

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

