Leadership Training

Leadership Safari

August 20, 2016 was my first day as a Chippewa. I don’t think I could have had a wider range of emotions about how my life was going to change. Happiness – to be a part of such an amazing college. Fear – of not knowing what to expect. Withdrawal – not being side by side to my mom everyday… and so many more feelings. After moving in all my things and getting a couple tears out of the way, my parents left, and I was on my own… Or so I thought.

I was constantly greeted the whole day with energetic strangers that had a lot of excitement about being at Leadership Safari. I thought, “What is the big deal?”. I didn’t understand what the hype was about… until the first event of safari kicked off. In the beginning, I stuck to my roommates like glue. They were the only familiar faces in a crowd of strangers. I quickly branched out and met bunches of new people, and current friends.

Leadership Safari creates a safe and fun environment for new students to adapt, and to grow as leaders. Safari allowed me to branch out, become more comfortable on campus, and see what CMU has to offer. Without Safari, it would have been a lot more difficult to adjust to campus life.

I am very thankful to have been given the opportunity to attend Leadership Safari, and to be a student at Central Michigan University. I look forward to applying to be a Safari guide in 2017, so I can help new students at CMU the way all the guides helped me.

Leave a Reply

